top of page


In every grade, our curriculum is grounded in child development, rooted in Jewish values, steeped in Jewish tradition, and guided by principles of experiential learning. Curriculum themes are thoughtfully chosen and projects are designed to make Judaism a relevant, meaningful part of learners’ lives right now and for many years to come.

Fifth Grade

In fifth grade, learners continue the exploration of “What does it mean that I am part of the Jewish people?” with a focus on the themes of tzedakah and prayer. There are problems in the world, and we can help to make a change. Tzedakah is one way to help fix the problems in the world. We focus on learning about how organizations are helping and where Tzedakah goes in order to provide help. Prayer can be a  personal experience and can also be a way to connect with our community. Through prayer as a community, we can find a sense of belonging and help support one another. In fifth grade, we will learn why people pray, and how to find personal meaning in it.


Sixth Grade

In sixth grade, learners explore two major themes surrounding the guiding question: "What does it mean that I am a Jewish person?" Rituals and G'milut Chasadim (Deeds of Loving Kindness). Rituals in our daily lives and special Jewish rituals create meaning and build community. G'milut Chasadim gives us the opportunity to support those in need in our own community by participating in activities that allow us to give back to our community and to those in need. 


Seventh Grade

In addition to preparing for and becoming B. Mitzvah, 7th grade learners focus on the guiding question: "What does it mean that I am a Jewish person?" This is broken down into three smaller questions: "Who am I?" "Who are we?" and "How do we work together to create change?" We spend time learning what it means to become adults in our community, how to effect change, find ways to seek equity and justice, and spend time learning ways to combat antisemitism. In the last part of our year, we will spend time exploring ways to stay involved in the TBS community after B. Mitzvah and 7th grade, through Etzim (8th-12th Grade Learning Program).

Temple Beth Shalom K-7 Learning Flow_edited.jpg
bottom of page